Barrett Hall

Built in 1860, Barrett Gymnasium was designed by Charles E. Parkes of Boston, and described by President Hitchcock as "massive in appearance, without much architectural beauty, though in conformity with architectural rules" (King, 64). The building contained not only gymnastic equipment but also a bowling alley, and was used as a gym until the construction of Pratt Gymnasium in 1883.

In 1907, the building became Barrett Hall, home of language classrooms. While Barrett Gym was not the first gymnasium building in the country, Amherst could boast the first department of Physical Education, housed in Barrett from 1859 to 1884 (King, 66). (Photo taken 12 October 2001).

View these other Amherstiana items featuring Barrett Hall:

Barrett Gymnasium Stereoview
Amherst from Northeast Stereoview
From College Tower Looking East Stereoview
Barrett Closet Keys Rules

©1998-2002 Brian T. Meacham