Dwight Morrow Memorial Dormitory

Dwight Morrow, after whom Morrow Dormitory is named, was a member of the Class of 1895, and gave the College a gift of $200,000 to help with the construction of a new dormitory, designed by McKim, Mead & White. Morrow was unique on the campus at the time because it consisted solely of single rooms, and also featured an experimental cafeteria on the first floor.

  The building was completed in 1926, and the cafeteria operated until the opening of Valentine Hall in 1941, at which point the Morrow facility was converted to more dormitory rooms (King, 175-76).

©1998-2002 Brian T. Meacham